AUSTIN GUIDES / NEW CONSTRUCTION
New homes in Leander, TX: communities, builders, tax rates and MUDs
New homes in Leander, TX are being built in 25 active subdivisions on the City of Leander's residential map effective March 31, 2026, which counts 9,972 single-family lots planned and 3,235 still to be built. On builders' own pages on September 30, 2026, prices started at $342,990 and ran past $1 million. The bigger difference between communities is the tax bill: for 2025, a new home inside city limits with no municipal utility district paid a combined $2.021358 per $100 of taxable value, and one in a MUD paid up to $2.511450. This guide lists the communities, builders, taxing units, MUDs, utilities, City inspections and schools, all from official records.
By David Eimer · Austin Guides · Facts reviewed

The numbers
- Single-family lots in Leander's active subdivisions
- 9,972 planned; 3,235 remainingAs of City map effective March 31, 2026
25 subdivisions on 5,748 acres; 6,737 units platted. Travisso has the most remaining lots, 467.
City of Leander: Residential Properties map, effective March 31, 2026 ↗
- Single-family homes permitted, City of Leander
- 951 in 2025As of Census Building Permits Survey, 2025 annual
Reported construction value averaged about $298,195 per home (computed from $283,583,020).
U.S. Census Bureau Building Permits Survey: South Region places, 2025 annual ↗
- Combined 2025 tax rate, new home in city limits, no MUD
- $2.021358 per $100As of 2025 tax year
A Bryson Phase 6 parcel: Williamson County, FM/Road, City of Leander, Leander ISD and Austin Community College.
Williamson County Tax Office: account R626931 (Bryson Phase 6) ↗
- Combined 2025 tax rate with a MUD, inside city limits
- $2.371358 to $2.511450 per $100As of 2025 tax year
Low end: Bryson Phase 3 in Leander TODD MUD No. 1. High end: Travisso in Travis County MUD No. 19, per Taylor Morrison's March 2026 sheet.
Taylor Morrison: Travisso Siena and Naples community information sheet (March 26, 2026) ↗
- City of Leander tax rate
- $0.417282 per $100As of 2026, adopted September 22, 2026
Unchanged from 2025.
City of Leander: Budget and Tax Rate (2026 rate adopted September 22, 2026) ↗
- Leander ISD tax rate for 2026
- $1.1169 per $100, subject to a November 3, 2026 electionAs of Adopted August 17, 2026
The district says the rate returns to $1.0869, the 2025 rate, if voters reject it.
- Builders' starting prices in Leander communities
- From $342,990 to $1,026,995As of Builders' own pages, September 30, 2026
D.R. Horton's Bar W Ranch Tradition Series at the low end; Toll Brothers at Woodland Estates at the high end.
D.R. Horton: Bar W Ranch (also lists The Enclave at Bar W Ranch and Rosenbusch Ranch) ↗
Where are new homes being built in Leander, TX?
New homes in Leander are spread across 25 active subdivisions on the City of Leander's residential properties map, effective March 31, 2026. Together they plan 9,972 single-family lots on 5,748 acres; 6,737 units were platted and 3,235 lots were still to be built. The largest by lots remaining were Burleson with 558, Travisso with 467, Bar W Ranch West with 315 and Oakwood Hills with 200. The map shows both city limits and the extraterritorial jurisdiction (ETJ), so being on it does not mean a lot pays City of Leander tax.
Leander permits a lot of houses. The Census Bureau's Building Permits Survey shows the City authorized 951 single-family homes in 2025, with a reported construction value of $283,583,020, about $298,195 a home (computed). The Census Bureau's Vintage 2025 estimates put Leander at 91,132 residents on July 1, 2025, up from 59,235 in its April 2020 base.
Some names people still search are finished. Johnson Development lists Bryson as a completed community where new home sales have ended, and MileStone's Larkspur page says "SOLD OUT." Northline, the downtown project at 183A and San Gabriel Parkway, plans apartments and townhomes rather than detached houses. For resale homes, taxes by address and the city's public improvement districts, see our Leander homes for sale page.
Active subdivisions on the City of Leander's residential map
| Subdivision | Single-family lots | Acres | Platted units | Remaining lots |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Bar W Ranch West | 1,970 | 891 | 1,655 | 315 |
| Barksdale | 103 | 44 | 56 | 47 |
| Barksdale Ph 3 & 4 | 176 | 53 | 0 | 176 |
| Burleson | 558 | 289 | 0 | 558 |
| Cypress Meadows | 94 | 44 | 0 | 94 |
| Edgewood | 378 | 140 | 191 | 187 |
| Glory Hill | 43 | 15 | 0 | 43 |
| Greatwood South | 89 | 120 | 0 | 89 |
| Greenlight Village | 50 | 14 | 0 | 50 |
| Hampton Estates | 17 | 17 | 0 | 17 |
| Hilltop Ranch | 84 | 105 | 0 | 84 |
| Horizon Oaks Park | 11 | 2 | 0 | 11 |
| Laluna Fields | 147 | 308 | 0 | 147 |
| Leander Estates | 158 | 211 | 105 | 53 |
| Lively | 1,200 | 437 | 1,146 | 54 |
| Lone Star Landing Ph 1 | 80 | 37 | 48 | 32 |
| Lone Star Landing Ph 2 | 59 | 22 | 0 | 59 |
| Lost Woods Estates | 79 | 28 | 0 | 79 |
| Oak Grove Estates | 47 | 21 | 0 | 47 |
| Oakwood Hills | 200 | 339 | 0 | 200 |
| Palmera Bluff | 421 | 220 | 334 | 87 |
| Rosenbusch Ranch | 525 | 149 | 381 | 144 |
| Travisso | 3,140 | 2,119 | 2,673 | 467 |
| Villas at Speaking Rock | 17 | 11 | 0 | 17 |
| Wildspring | 326 | 111 | 148 | 178 |
| Total | 9,972 | 5,748 | 6,737 | 3,235 |
Sources: City of Leander: Residential Properties map, effective March 31, 2026 ↗ · City of Leander: Maps & Guides ↗ · U.S. Census Bureau Building Permits Survey: South Region places, 2025 annual ↗ · U.S. Census Bureau: Vintage 2025 population estimates, incorporated places ↗ · Johnson Development: Bryson ↗ · MileStone Community Builders: Larkspur ↗ · Northline Leander ↗
Which builders sell new homes in Leander, and from what prices?
On September 30, 2026, builders' own pages listed new homes in at least 12 Leander communities. Starting prices ran from $342,990 for D.R. Horton's Tradition Series at Bar W Ranch to $1,026,995 for Toll Brothers at Woodland Estates, on one-acre home sites. In between, Pulte listed Horizon Lake from $379,990, David Weekley listed South Brook from the $414s, D.R. Horton listed Rosenbusch Ranch from the $442s, and Coventry listed Carneros Ranch from $639,900.
The two largest communities have several builders each. The Travisso site names Taylor Morrison and Toll Brothers, with Toll's collections from $494,995 to $1,226,995. The Palmera Ridge site calls it a 426-acre community of about 1,000 homes on the former Kitty Hill Airport, with Highland Homes from the $770s, Perry Homes from the $790s and Coventry Homes from $839,900.
A "from" price is the builder's base plan on its smallest lot. It leaves out lot premiums, options and incentives, and it changes often. For context, Unlock MLS reported a $399,900 median sale price across Williamson County in August 2026, down 5.9% from a year earlier, with 4.6 months of inventory. Our Austin home builders guide shows how to check any builder in public records.
Leander new-home communities: builders, prices and districts
| Community | Builders and prices on their own pages | School district stated | Special district on a parcel or builder page |
|---|---|---|---|
| Travisso | Toll Brothers from $494,995 (Capri) to $1,226,995 (Verona); Taylor Morrison from $717,990 (70s Naples) and $948,990 (80s Florence) | Leander ISD | Travis County MUD No. 19 on Taylor Morrison's sheet; MUD No. 21 on a Phase 1 parcel |
| Palmera Ridge | Highland Homes from the $770s; Perry Homes from the $790s (60-foot) and $940s (70-foot); Coventry Homes from $839,900 (70-foot) | Leander ISD | Palmera Ridge MUD and Upper Brushy Creek WCID on a Section 1 parcel |
| Leander Estates | David Weekley Homes from the $800s, one-acre homesites | Leander ISD | Upper Brushy Creek WCID; builder states a 2.038358% total rate |
| South Brook | David Weekley Homes from the $414s | Leander ISD | Builder states a 2.038358% total rate |
| Wildspring | Toll Brothers from $545,995 (Arbor) and $775,995 (Grove) | Leander ISD | Not stated |
| Woodland Estates | Toll Brothers from $1,026,995, one-acre home sites | Leander ISD | Not stated |
| Hilltop Ranch | Drees Custom Homes, one-acre home sites; no starting price displayed | Leander ISD | Not stated |
| Carneros Ranch | Coventry Homes from $639,900 | Leander ISD | Builder states "a low 2.03% tax rate" |
| Horizon Lake | Pulte Homes from $379,990 | Leander ISD | Not stated |
| Bluffview Reserve | Pulte Homes from $569,990, quick move-in homes only | Liberty Hill ISD | Builder says "Low Tax Rate" with no figure |
| Bar W Ranch | D.R. Horton from $342,990 (Tradition Series); The Enclave at Bar W Ranch from the $461s | Liberty Hill ISD | Leander MUD No. 2 and Williamson County ESD No. 4 on a Phase 10 parcel; no City of Leander levy |
| Rosenbusch Ranch | D.R. Horton from the $442s | Leander ISD on a Phase 2 parcel | Upper Brushy Creek WCID; no MUD |
Sources: D.R. Horton: Bar W Ranch (also lists The Enclave at Bar W Ranch and Rosenbusch Ranch) ↗ · Toll Brothers at Woodland Estates ↗ · Pulte Homes: Horizon Lake ↗ · David Weekley Homes: South Brook ↗ · Coventry Homes: Carneros Ranch ↗ · Travisso: community site ↗ · Toll Brothers: Travisso ↗ · Palmera Ridge: community site ↗ · Highland Homes: Palmera Ridge ↗ · Perry Homes: Palmera Ridge 60' ↗ · Coventry Homes: Palmera Ridge ↗ · Unlock MLS: August 2026 Central Texas Housing Report, released September 15, 2026 ↗
What is the property tax rate on a new home in Leander?
For 2025, a new home in the Williamson County part of Leander with no special district paid $2.021358 per $100 of taxable value. That is the total on a Bryson Phase 6 parcel at the Williamson County Tax Office: Leander ISD $1.0869, the City of Leander $0.417282, Williamson County $0.369447, the county's FM/Road fund $0.044329 and Austin Community College $0.1034. Most in-city parcels we checked also carry the Upper Brushy Creek WCID at $0.017, for $2.038358, the figure David Weekley prints for Leander Estates and South Brook.
A MUD raises that. Bryson Phase 3, in Leander TODD MUD No. 1, paid $2.371358, and Palmera Ridge Section 1 paid $2.438358. In the Travis County part of the city, Travisso pays Travis County and Central Health instead of Williamson County: $2.476450 on a Phase 1 parcel in MUD No. 21, and $2.511450 on Taylor Morrison's sheet for MUD No. 19.
For 2026, the City kept its rate at $0.417282 and Williamson County adopted a combined $0.421547. Leander ISD adopted $1.1169, which holds only if voters approve it on November 3, 2026. On the example below, a homestead exemption takes a $450,000 Palmera Ridge bill from $10,973 to about $9,340. The Austin property taxes guide explains the 10% homestead cap.
Combined 2025 tax rate on sample Leander-area parcels
| Parcel checked | In Leander city limits? | Taxing units on the record | 2025 combined rate per $100 |
|---|---|---|---|
| Bryson Phase 6 | Yes | Williamson County, FM/Road, City of Leander, Leander ISD, ACC | $2.021358 |
| Westview Meadows | Yes | The same five plus Upper Brushy Creek WCID | $2.038358 |
| Bryson Phase 3 | Yes | The same five plus Leander TODD MUD No. 1 | $2.371358 |
| Palmera Ridge Section 1 | Yes | The same five plus Upper Brushy Creek WCID and Palmera Ridge MUD | $2.438358 |
| Travisso Phase 1 (Travis County) | Yes | Travis County, Central Health, ACC, Leander ISD, City of Leander, Travis County MUD No. 21 | $2.476450 |
| Travisso, Siena and Naples (Travis County) | Yes | As above, with Travis County MUD No. 19 | $2.511450 |
| Summerlyn | No | Williamson County, FM/Road, ACC, Leander ISD, Williamson County MUD No. 13, ESD No. 4 | $2.202671 |
| Bar W Ranch West Phase 10 | No | Williamson County, FM/Road, Liberty Hill ISD, Leander MUD No. 2, ESD No. 4 | $2.727171 (computed) |
Taxing units on a Leander new home: 2025 adopted rates and 2026 status
| Taxing unit | 2025 homestead exemption | 2025 adopted, per $100 | 2026 status |
|---|---|---|---|
| Leander ISD | $140,000 | $1.086900 | $1.1169 adopted August 17, 2026, subject to a November 3 election; $1.0869 if it fails |
| City of Leander | 1% or $5,000 | $0.417282 | $0.417282 adopted September 22, 2026 |
| Williamson County | 5% or $5,000 | $0.369447 | County total, with FM/Road, of $0.421547 adopted September 1, 2026 |
| Williamson County FM/Road | $3,000 | $0.044329 | Included in the county total above |
| Austin Community College | 1% or $5,000 | $0.103400 | $0.103643 adopted September 14, 2026 |
| Upper Brushy Creek WCID (most in-city Williamson parcels) | 1% or $5,000 | $0.017000 | Not yet posted |
| Travis County (Travis County part of the city) | 20% | $0.375845 | $0.386210 adopted |
| Travis County Healthcare District (Central Health) | Not confirmed | $0.118023 | $0.132863 adopted |
| Total, Williamson County part, no MUD or WCID | $2.021358 | $2.059372 (computed); $2.029372 if the school election fails |
Worked example: a $450,000 homestead in Palmera Ridge at 2025 rates
| Taxing unit | Homestead exemption | Taxable value | Tax (computed) |
|---|---|---|---|
| Leander ISD | $140,000 | $310,000 | $3,369 |
| Williamson County | $22,500 (5%) | $427,500 | $1,579 |
| Williamson County FM/Road | $3,000 | $447,000 | $198 |
| City of Leander | $5,000 | $445,000 | $1,857 |
| Austin Community College | $5,000 | $445,000 | $460 |
| Upper Brushy Creek WCID | $5,000 | $445,000 | $76 |
| Palmera Ridge MUD | None | $450,000 | $1,800 |
| Total | $9,340, against $10,973 with no exemption |
Sources: Williamson County Tax Office: account R626931 (Bryson Phase 6) ↗ · Williamson County Tax Office: account R425345 (Westview Meadows) ↗ · Williamson County Tax Office: account R575614 (Bryson Phase 3, Leander TODD MUD No. 1) ↗ · Williamson County Tax Office: account R542490 (Palmera Ridge Section 1) ↗ · Travis County Tax Office truth-in-taxation portal: property 842569 (Travisso Phase 1) ↗ · Taylor Morrison: Travisso Siena and Naples community information sheet (March 26, 2026) ↗ · Williamson County Tax Assessor-Collector: 2025 Tax Rates and Exemptions ↗ · David Weekley Homes: Leander Estates ↗ · City of Leander: Budget and Tax Rate (2026 rate adopted September 22, 2026) ↗ · Williamson County: County budget and tax rate for tax year 2026, September 1, 2026 ↗ · Leander ISD: Board Briefs, August 17, 2026 ↗ · Leander ISD: Board Calls Nov. 3 School Funding Election ↗
Which Leander communities have a MUD, PID or WCID?
Three kinds of special district show up on Leander new-home bills. A municipal utility district (MUD) repays bonds for water, sewer and drainage with its own property tax. The Williamson County Tax Office's 2025 list shows Leander TODD MUD No. 1 at $0.35, Palmera Ridge MUD at $0.40, and Leander MUD Nos. 1, 2 and 3 at $1.00 each. On the Travis County side, Travis County MUD No. 19 levied $0.41 for 2025 and has $0.44 posted for 2026. Every district in the table is active in the TCEQ Water Utility Database.
The district can change inside one community. Leander TODD MUD No. 1's 2024 official statement says it lies wholly within Leander city limits and covers part of Bryson; the Phase 3 parcel we checked carries it, and the Phase 6 parcel does not. Travisso parcels sit in MUD No. 19 or No. 21. A public improvement district (PID) levies an assessment instead: the City lists Oak Creek, Crystal Springs and Deerbrooke, with the assessment on the county tax bill.
The seller must give you the district's notice before the contract, under Texas Water Code §49.452 for a MUD and Property Code §5.014 for a PID. The new construction buyer's guide works through how a MUD tax changes the monthly payment.
Special districts on Leander-area new-home parcels
| District | 2025 rate per $100 | Where we found it | TCEQ status |
|---|---|---|---|
| Leander TODD MUD No. 1 | $0.35 | Bryson, wholly inside city limits per its 2024 official statement; not on every phase | Active, 538 acres |
| Palmera Ridge MUD | $0.40 | Palmera Ridge, inside city limits | Active, 426.9 acres |
| Travis County MUD No. 19 | $0.41; $0.44 posted for 2026 | Travisso, inside city limits | Active |
| Travis County MUD No. 21 | $0.375 | Travisso Phase 1, inside city limits | Active |
| Leander MUD No. 2 | $1.00 | Bar W Ranch West, outside city limits | Active |
| Leander MUD Nos. 1 and 3 | $1.00 each | Subdivisions not confirmed | Active |
| Williamson County MUD No. 13 | $0.5241 | Summerlyn, outside city limits | Active |
| Upper Brushy Creek WCID | $0.017 | Most in-city Williamson County parcels we checked | Not checked |
Sources: Williamson County Tax Assessor-Collector: 2025 Tax Rates and Exemptions ↗ · Travis County Tax Office: tax rates by taxing unit, 2026 and prior years (spreadsheet) ↗ · TCEQ Water Utility Database: Leander TODD MUD 1 ↗ · TCEQ Water Utility Database: Palmera Ridge MUD ↗ · TCEQ Water Utility Database: Travis County MUD 19 ↗ · TCEQ Water Utility Database: Travis County MUD 21 ↗ · TCEQ Water Utility Database: Leander MUD 1 ↗ · TCEQ Water Utility Database: Leander MUD 2 ↗ · TCEQ Water Utility Database: Leander MUD 3 ↗ · TCEQ Water Utility Database: Williamson County MUD 13 ↗ · Leander TODD Municipal Utility District No. 1: Official Statement (December 16, 2024) ↗ · Williamson County Tax Office: account R575614 (Bryson Phase 3, Leander TODD MUD No. 1) ↗ · Williamson County Tax Office: account R626931 (Bryson Phase 6) ↗ · Travis County Tax Office truth-in-taxation portal: property 842569 (Travisso Phase 1) ↗ · City of Leander: Public Improvement Districts (PID) ↗ · Texas Water Code §49.452, Notice to Purchasers ↗ · Texas Property Code §5.014, Notice for public improvement districts ↗
Is a Leander new home inside city limits or in the ETJ?
A Leander mailing address does not mean Leander city limits. The Bar W Ranch West Phase 10 parcel on the Williamson Central Appraisal District record lists Williamson County, FM/Road, Leander MUD No. 2, Williamson County ESD No. 4 and Liberty Hill ISD, with no City of Leander and no Austin Community College line. At the county's 2025 rates that adds to $2.727171 per $100 (computed), the highest of the parcels we checked. Summerlyn, also outside city limits, paid $2.202671 with Williamson County MUD No. 13 and ESD No. 4.
Outside city limits, a MUD and an emergency services district take the place of city taxes, and some services work differently: the City of Leander's contacts page says streetlights in MUDs such as Bar W and Rancho Sienna are outside its jurisdiction for repairs. Under Senate Bill 2038, an owner of eligible ETJ land can also petition the City to be released from its ETJ; the City posts the packet for that request.
Pull the lot's record before comparing homes. The WCAD search covers the Williamson County part of Leander and the Travis Central Appraisal District search covers the rest.
Sources: Williamson Central Appraisal District: Bar W Ranch West Ph 10 lot, taxing entities ↗ · Williamson County Tax Assessor-Collector: 2025 Tax Rates and Exemptions ↗ · Williamson County Tax Office: account R465812 (Summerlyn) ↗ · City of Leander: Who to Contact ↗ · City of Leander: ETJ Release Request Submittal Packet ↗ · Williamson Central Appraisal District: Property Search ↗ · Travis Central Appraisal District: Property Search ↗
Which school districts serve new homes in Leander?
Most new Leander communities are in Leander ISD, but not all. D.R. Horton's Bar W Ranch page and Pulte's Bluffview Reserve page both name Liberty Hill ISD, and the Bar W Ranch parcel's record agrees. Liberty Hill ISD's 2025 rate was $1.2389 per $100, against Leander ISD's $1.0869, so the school district alone moves the bill. This guide does not rate schools.
Leander ISD covers about 200 square miles and parts of Austin, Cedar Park, Georgetown, Leander and Jonestown, with more than 42,000 students on 49 campuses, according to the district. Its School Zone Finder looks up the campuses for an address. For 2026-27, the board approved a Faubion attendance rezoning, and the district's first Early Childhood Center for PreK opens to serve the Bagdad, Larkspur, North, Plain and Tarvin zones. Check a new-build address before you sign, because attendance zones change, as the Faubion rezoning shows.
Sources: D.R. Horton: Bar W Ranch (also lists The Enclave at Bar W Ranch and Rosenbusch Ranch) ↗ · Pulte Homes: Bluffview Reserve ↗ · Williamson Central Appraisal District: Bar W Ranch West Ph 10 lot, taxing entities ↗ · Williamson County Tax Assessor-Collector: 2025 Tax Rates and Exemptions ↗ · Leander ISD: About ↗ · Leander ISD: Attendance Zones and School Zone Finder ↗ · Leander ISD: Early Childhood Center ↗
Who provides water in Leander, and what are the watering rules for new yards?
Inside city limits, the City of Leander runs water distribution, treatment and wastewater collection. Its water comes from Lake Travis: the Sandy Creek water treatment plant and the Brushy Creek Regional Utility Authority (BCRUA), a partnership of Cedar Park, Leander and Round Rock that treats water from the Lower Colorado River Authority. The City lists Pedernales Electric Cooperative as the power provider, and Leander Utilities handles water, sewer and garbage billing. Outside city limits, ask the builder which district or utility serves the lot.
New sod is where the rules bite. As of September 30, 2026, the City's page shows Phase 2 water conservation in effect: landscape irrigation one day a week, from midnight to 7 a.m. or 7 p.m. to midnight, by the last digit of the address. Addresses ending in 2 or 4 water Monday, 1 or 5 Tuesday, 6 Wednesday, 0 Thursday, 9 Friday, 8 Saturday, and 3 or 7 Sunday. Ask the builder how it plans to establish the lawn under that schedule.
Sources: City of Leander: Water and Wastewater ↗ · City of Leander: Brushy Creek Regional Utility Authority ↗ · City of Leander: Phase 2 water conservation in effect ↗ · City of Leander: Who to Contact ↗
What does the City of Leander inspect on a new house?
The City of Leander permits new houses through its Development Hub, and its Residential Building Inspection Guidelines list the inspections a new house must pass, from the layout and temporary electric to the pre-pour foundation check, frame, insulation, and building, electrical, mechanical and plumbing finals. The guidelines also require an engineer's pre-pour report and a soil certificate. The City says inspections requested before 4 p.m. are typically done the next business day.
A City inspection checks code compliance at each stage for the permit; it is not a buyer's inspection. A TREC-licensed inspector you hire works for you, and the pre-pour, pre-drywall and final stages are the natural times to book one. The new construction buyer's guide covers which inspections to add and how to write them into a builder contract.
What the City of Leander inspects on a new house, in order
| Stage | Inspections the City lists |
|---|---|
| Start | Layout; temporary electric |
| Underground | Plumbing rough; water and sewer yard lines and backflow |
| Foundation | Engineer's pre-pour report; pre-pour |
| Framing | Sheathing; frame; electrical and mechanical rough; gas test; plumbing top-out |
| Enclosure | Insulation; masonry and lath |
| Flatwork and power | Sidewalk and driveway; permanent power; soil certificate |
| Finals | Building, electrical, mechanical and plumbing finals; energy compliance; landscaping; site; architectural final |
Sources: City of Leander: Development Hub ↗ · City of Leander: Residential Permits ↗ · City of Leander: Residential Building Inspection Guidelines (revised March 30, 2020) ↗ · City of Leander: Permits and Building Inspection ↗

How do you get from Leander's new communities to Austin?
Two routes run south from Leander. The 183A Toll Road, run by the Central Texas Regional Mobility Authority, is an almost 16-mile cashless toll road from RM 620 through Cedar Park and Leander. CapMetro's Route 550, the MetroRail Red Line, has 10 stations from Downtown Austin to Leander.
Commute times depend on the lot and the hour, so this guide doesn't quote them. Drive the route from the community's entrance at the time you'd leave for work, and if rail matters, check the drive from the lot to Leander Station as well.
Sources: Central Texas Regional Mobility Authority: 183A Toll ↗ · CapMetro: CapMetro Rail (Red Line) ↗
What should you do before visiting a Leander model home?
Sign a written buyer agreement with your own agent before you register at any Leander sales office. Texas Occupations Code §1101.563 has required a written agreement before a license holder shows a home since January 1, 2026, and it must say that broker compensation is not set by law and is fully negotiable. Builders set their own agent-registration rules, so get the policy in writing before the first visit.
Then pull the lot on the WCAD or TCAD search to list every taxing unit, ask for the MUD or PID notice, and check the address in Leander ISD's School Zone Finder, the FEMA Flood Map Service Center and the City's floodplain page. Compare any builder lender incentive with an outside quote; Freddie Mac's 30-year average was 7.03% for the week of September 24, 2026.
If you'd like the numbers run for a specific Leander lot, bring the address and the builder's price sheet to David. He can pull the parcel's taxing units, the district notice and a payment comparison before you register.
Sources: Texas Occupations Code §1101.563, Written Agreement Required ↗ · Williamson Central Appraisal District: Property Search ↗ · Travis Central Appraisal District: Property Search ↗ · Leander ISD: Attendance Zones and School Zone Finder ↗ · FEMA Flood Map Service Center ↗ · City of Leander: Floodplain ↗ · Freddie Mac: Primary Mortgage Market Survey, week of September 24, 2026 ↗
Common questions
Are there new construction homes in Leander, TX?
Yes. The City of Leander's residential map, effective March 31, 2026, lists 25 active subdivisions with 3,235 of 9,972 single-family lots still to be built, and the Census Bureau counted 951 single-family homes permitted in the city in 2025. Builders including Toll Brothers, Taylor Morrison, Highland, Perry, Coventry, David Weekley, Drees, Pulte and D.R. Horton list Leander communities.
How much do new homes in Leander cost?
On builders' own pages on September 30, 2026, Leander starting prices ran from $342,990 at D.R. Horton's Bar W Ranch to $1,026,995 at Toll Brothers' Woodland Estates. Nine of the 11 communities with a posted price started between $379,990 and the $800s. A starting price excludes lot premiums and options.
What is the property tax rate for a new home in Leander, TX?
For 2025, a Leander home inside city limits with no special district paid $2.021358 per $100 of taxable value, or $2.038358 with the Upper Brushy Creek WCID. With a MUD, parcels we checked ran from $2.371358 in Bryson to $2.511450 in Travisso. Outside city limits, a Bar W Ranch parcel adds up to $2.727171 (computed).
Does Travisso have a MUD?
Yes. Travisso lots sit in Travis County MUD No. 19 or No. 21. Taylor Morrison's March 2026 sheet lists MUD No. 19 at 0.41% and a combined rate of $2.511450 per $100, and a Phase 1 parcel in MUD No. 21 totals $2.476450 for 2025. MUD No. 19 has $0.44 posted for 2026.
Is Bar W Ranch in Leander city limits?
No. The appraisal district record for a Bar W Ranch West Phase 10 lot lists Williamson County, Leander MUD No. 2, Williamson County ESD No. 4 and Liberty Hill ISD, with no City of Leander tax. At 2025 rates that totals $2.727171 per $100 (computed), and the community is zoned to Liberty Hill ISD.
What school district are new Leander homes in?
Most are in Leander ISD, including Travisso, Palmera Ridge, Leander Estates, Wildspring and Carneros Ranch, according to the builders. Bar W Ranch and Bluffview Reserve are in Liberty Hill ISD. Check the exact address in Leander ISD's School Zone Finder and on the appraisal district record.
What are Leander's watering restrictions?
As of September 30, 2026, the City of Leander was in Phase 2 water conservation, which limits landscape irrigation to one day a week from midnight to 7 a.m. or 7 p.m. to midnight, by the last digit of the address. Leander's water comes from Lake Travis through the Sandy Creek plant and the BCRUA.
Take this to your next conversation
- Pull the lot on the WCAD or TCAD search and list every taxing unit, including any MUD, PID, WCID or ESD.
- Confirm the school district on the record, since some Leander addresses are in Liberty Hill ISD.
- Ask for the Water Code §49.452 MUD notice or the Property Code §5.014 PID notice before signing.
- Sign a written buyer agreement with your own agent before registering at a sales office.
Sources and review date
Every figure on this page was checked against these sources on . Rates, rules and fees change; confirm them for a specific property before relying on them.
- City of Leander: Residential Properties map, effective March 31, 2026 ↗
- City of Leander: Maps & Guides ↗
- U.S. Census Bureau Building Permits Survey: South Region places, 2025 annual ↗
- U.S. Census Bureau: Vintage 2025 population estimates, incorporated places ↗
- Johnson Development: Bryson ↗
- MileStone Community Builders: Larkspur ↗
- Northline Leander ↗
- Travisso: community site ↗
- Toll Brothers: Travisso ↗
- Taylor Morrison: Travisso 70s Naples Collection ↗
- Taylor Morrison: Travisso Siena and Naples community information sheet (March 26, 2026) ↗
- Palmera Ridge: community site ↗
- Highland Homes: Palmera Ridge ↗
- Perry Homes: Palmera Ridge 60' ↗
- Perry Homes: Palmera Ridge 70' ↗
- Coventry Homes: Palmera Ridge ↗
- David Weekley Homes: Leander Estates ↗
- David Weekley Homes: South Brook ↗
- Toll Brothers: Wildspring ↗
- Toll Brothers at Woodland Estates ↗
- Drees Custom Homes: Hilltop Ranch ↗
- Coventry Homes: Carneros Ranch ↗
- Pulte Homes: Horizon Lake ↗
- Pulte Homes: Bluffview Reserve ↗
- D.R. Horton: Bar W Ranch (also lists The Enclave at Bar W Ranch and Rosenbusch Ranch) ↗
- Williamson Central Appraisal District: Bar W Ranch West Ph 10 lot, taxing entities ↗
- Williamson Central Appraisal District: Rosenbusch Ranch Ph 2 lot, taxing entities ↗
- Williamson County Tax Office: account R626931 (Bryson Phase 6) ↗
- Williamson County Tax Office: account R425345 (Westview Meadows) ↗
- Williamson County Tax Office: account R575614 (Bryson Phase 3, Leander TODD MUD No. 1) ↗
- Williamson County Tax Office: account R542490 (Palmera Ridge Section 1) ↗
- Williamson County Tax Office: account R465812 (Summerlyn) ↗
- Travis County Tax Office truth-in-taxation portal: property 842569 (Travisso Phase 1) ↗
- Williamson County Tax Assessor-Collector: 2025 Tax Rates and Exemptions ↗
- Williamson County: County budget and tax rate for tax year 2026, September 1, 2026 ↗
- Travis County Tax Office: tax rates by taxing unit, 2026 and prior years (spreadsheet) ↗
- Travis County: FY 2027 tax rate impact statement ↗
- City of Leander: Budget and Tax Rate (2026 rate adopted September 22, 2026) ↗
- Leander ISD: Board Briefs, August 17, 2026 ↗
- Leander ISD: Board Calls Nov. 3 School Funding Election ↗
- Austin Community College: ACC approves new property tax rate for FY2026-27 ↗
- Leander TODD Municipal Utility District No. 1: Official Statement (December 16, 2024) ↗
- TCEQ Water Utility Database: Leander TODD MUD 1 ↗
- TCEQ Water Utility Database: Palmera Ridge MUD ↗
- TCEQ Water Utility Database: Travis County MUD 19 ↗
- TCEQ Water Utility Database: Travis County MUD 21 ↗
- TCEQ Water Utility Database: Leander MUD 1 ↗
- TCEQ Water Utility Database: Leander MUD 2 ↗
- TCEQ Water Utility Database: Leander MUD 3 ↗
- TCEQ Water Utility Database: Williamson County MUD 13 ↗
- City of Leander: Public Improvement Districts (PID) ↗
- Texas Water Code §49.452, Notice to Purchasers ↗
- Texas Property Code §5.014, Notice for public improvement districts ↗
- City of Leander: Who to Contact ↗
- City of Leander: ETJ Release Request Submittal Packet ↗
- Williamson Central Appraisal District: Property Search ↗
- Travis Central Appraisal District: Property Search ↗
- Leander ISD: About ↗
- Leander ISD: Attendance Zones and School Zone Finder ↗
- Leander ISD: Early Childhood Center ↗
- City of Leander: Water and Wastewater ↗
- City of Leander: Brushy Creek Regional Utility Authority ↗
- City of Leander: Phase 2 water conservation in effect ↗
- City of Leander: Development Hub ↗
- City of Leander: Residential Permits ↗
- City of Leander: Residential Building Inspection Guidelines (revised March 30, 2020) ↗
- City of Leander: Permits and Building Inspection ↗
- Central Texas Regional Mobility Authority: 183A Toll ↗
- CapMetro: CapMetro Rail (Red Line) ↗
- Unlock MLS: August 2026 Central Texas Housing Report, released September 15, 2026 ↗
- Freddie Mac: Primary Mortgage Market Survey, week of September 24, 2026 ↗
- FEMA Flood Map Service Center ↗
- City of Leander: Floodplain ↗
- Texas Occupations Code §1101.563, Written Agreement Required ↗